Four Students


Join the ACMS and support academic research and scholarship in Mongolian Studies.

Members are an important part of the governance of the organization. Membership serves two primary purposes in the ACMS.

  1. Members have voting rights to elect “At-Large” representatives of the Board of Directors for individual and student members;
  2. Members have rights to nominate a representative on the Board of Directors for institutional members.

The Board of Directors is the governing body of the organization, and it has complete authority over all programs and activities. Members, both individual and institutional, therefore have a direct stake in the future development of the organization.

Forming a Community

Members also strengthen the organization by officially participating in a community of scholars, researchers, students, and other people interested in Inner Asia Area Studies. A large membership base is a strong demonstration of the need for increased public and private funding for academic programs in this fascinating region of the world. Membership is open to individuals, corporations, and institutions that support the ACMS’s mission of promoting scholarship in Mongolia. Membership is offered on an annual basis at the following rates:

  • $20 for Students
  • $40 for Individuals
  • $200 for Institutional Members
  • ₮30000 for Mongolian Citizens (Student & Individual)

All dues go directly toward supporting the activities of the ACMS in Mongolia. As a registered 501(c)3 non-profit, academic organization, membership dues and other donations paid to the ACMS are tax deductible in the United States, to the extent allowed by IRS regulations.

"Members are a crucial element of the ACMS and its future growth. Membership dues provide funds for supporting various center activities, and a large membership pool demonstrates the rationale for increased public support of Mongolia Studies and discipline-based research in Mongolia.’’

Charles Krusekopf

Charles Krusekopf, Professor of Business, Royal Roads University, and ACMS Associate Director

Member Institution Board Representatives

Arts Council of Mongolia – Dwight Gee
Colorado State University – Maria Fernandez-Gimenez
Indiana University – Kathryn Graber
Macalester College – Holly Barcus
Mercer University – Jonathan Addleton Montana State University – Clifford Montagne
Principia College – John Williams
Royal Roads University – Charles Krusekopf
Rutgers University – Olaf Jensen
University of Alaska, Anchorage – Nancy Nix
University of Arizona – John W. Olsen
University of California – Caverlee Cary
University of Chicago – John Woods
University of Kansas – Alexander C. Diener
University of Nebraska – Scott Gardner
University of New Mexico – Joseph A. Cook
University of North Georgia – Timothy May
University of Pennsylvania – Christopher Atwood
University of Wisconsin – Jennifer Tishler
Western Washington University – Lee Sternberger
Yale University – William Honeychurch University of Colorado, Boulder – William Taylor

Natural History Museum of Los Angeles County Museum -Luis Chiappe

American Museum of Natural History – Michael Novacek

At-Large Board Members

Mr. Joseph Lake, Retired Former US Ambassador to Mongolia
Dr. Saruul Erdene, Mongolian Cultural Center
Mr. Layton Croft, Peabody Energy
Dr. Morris Rossabi, Columbia University
Dr. Marissa Smith, University of California-Berkeley

Scroll to Top
Skip to content